What About Perfection [and what ever else I did today]

1. Why Gagosian is successful:

Gagosian saw Warhol—and large portions of his oeuvre—as an undervalued commodity.

He was also in the right place at the right time. Why do I take an interest? Peripherally, I wanted to know the psychology of this super-successful person. Success to me, is probably being able to go into one thing (making art in my case) very deeply and innovate my creativity so that I am always blowing my own mind by creating the world around me. If this could be a viable career opportunity, it would allow me to live in a minimal, sublime way where everything is beautiful and free of suffering. This is an ideal of perfection. I once wrote an essay in English on perfection. We had to choose a word and just expand and expound on it for 5 pages. I found it some years ago – and realized, “Hmmm, this is rather incomplete.” This would be a word I would find exciting to come back to because I think I am ultimately, so drawn to a kind of perfection that I now know to hunt for it. I get this instinct from my mom, whose instinct is so keen and refined that she plainly recognizes something awe-inspiring beautiful. For instance and in and of itself, perfection conjures a sense of the ideal in all of its glorious totality, (however that pertains to one.) It could be the removal of all that is unnecessary or extraneous in one’s view or mind to lead toward clarity. And if it were a state of mind, it might conjure vast, endless beauty or a deep sense of exaltation or connectedness. I would not have thought about these things in high school because I was too busy negatively reacting to the mainstream media’s dissemination/prescription of beauty and ideal of perfection. But now however, I am devout in reaching perfection in something I do, not only for myself, but hopefully to put out into the world and to be an activist for the possibility that a place of unadulterated perfection still exists. I had moments of such perfection seeing art in Germany, London and New York during and after my undergraduate college days. After that it became enough to understand that a certain kind of object of art was like a capsule of a kind of perfection that existed for that time, in the maker’s mind. How does one know when they are looking at a great piece of art? It is probably when they are aware enough to recognize when they are in fact directly; physically and emotionally connected to humanity past and present through the sheer materialization and transformation of the maker. Great art is indeed alive. Vicki recently sent this to me: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kvcq5Ge8sHY

I sensed that when she sent this to me, that she was profoundly absorbed to the point where she had forgot about time passing. I was moved especially because of the maker’s indeed, clear statement when I heard it too.

When I was really moved by art, I realized it was because of the maker’s purity of intent to make something that characterized the amount of his or her own humanity, captured in one single work of art. Wow. How can you do that! I wonder all the time, but seeing as I have stepped onto the tracks of such an endeavor, I realize it begins with discipline, concentration and determination. Without  these three very necessary foundational elements, you simply cannot have sustained passion and/or inspiration. With this all realized in the last few months, every part of me is beginning to focus on making that determined, clear statement.

2. Best story…

http://thequotes.net/2011/11/the-ant-and-the-grasshopper/

3. Best Follow-Up picture..

YES

Source material…

https://www.google.com/search?q=ants+food&hl=en&tbm=isch&tbo=u&source=univ&sa=X&ei=L38mUfCJAq_1iQLw2YHYBA&sqi=2&ved=0CC4QsAQ&biw=1244&bih=803#imgrc=_

Leave a Reply

