My monument | http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Of_Human_Bondage

I am pretty amazed by the character of Philip Carey in this book. 

Today was and is a spectacular day – bright, warm yet clarified. I was scooping it up on a long errand from work to the post office to drop off the bulk mailing. Now more than ever, I see the beginnings of this “city of the future” taking hold. Development has kicked into action with condominiums (an astonishing amount) breaking ground on almost every vacant corner of the distance between Downtown and Mid-Wilshire. It is not an exaggeration. They rise up like old teeth upon a fragile foundation and definitely, a changing cultural and socio-economic ecosystem for which we (meaning L.A.) are in a new era. Where do I fit into all of this? Like Philip Carey in the novel’s middle, I am wide-eyed, yet have been heartbroken, have understood my own limitations, have stood in awe towards the greatness of this and any other big city, am motivated to take it all in my grasp, carefully shaping it into a beautiful object so that life would have been used towards something pristine, sacred and holy. Pure, this idea of pure isn’t really current anymore for me. This concept of returning to a pure state or something or maintaining innocence or facades of civility is actually a lack of courage which I have learned, does no one any good. Life is just not as interesting to refer to something that has not been shaped by the currents of life: There is balance in resistance. Two forces colliding, creating pressure and forcing something new. Life is pain. Pain is life. To understand this is to become one with nature and greatness, hurt and all. It is life. So I’ll take it. 

7 thoughts on “My monument | http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Of_Human_Bondage

  1. Of Human Bondage is my favorite book! So much beautiful writing, genius wisdom, and really REALLY quotable, clever phrases about life. Especially from Philip Carey’s drunken poet friend, and his own narration. I really wish I’d marked certain sentences in there. I’ll have to read it again one day.

    I like your personal take on it, too. Awesome post 🙂

    • Yeah, this novel is something isn’t it? There are so many genuinely articulated moments, feelings and ideas that uncannily relate to life. It is such a fun read as well. Philip’s friends are great characters in the own rights. I especially love the recurring theme of that Persian rug he gets and how it is supposed to represent life’s ultimate answer! It is an absolute absurdity, but Philip realizes later, that life itself is or has become absurd. Thanks for your comments.

Leave a Reply

